What You Need To Know About Weapons Possession Laws In Texas

weapons possession

Under the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, American citizens have the right to keep and bear arms. While the Texas Constitution upholds the right to bear arms for self-defense purposes, it does so while implementing specific policies and restrictions to protect its citizens.

If a man or woman chooses not to abide by these limitations, they are at risk for severe repercussions for illegal weapons possession.

To better understand the weapons possession laws in Texas, experienced attorneys, like the Houston Law Firm of Aaron W. Perry, can assist you. Before you choose to carry a firearm or weapon, there are several things you should be aware of.

When Is It Legal To Own Or Carry A Weapon In Texas?

For Texas residents, the Second Amendment protects their right to own firearms that are kept on their private property. To carry a gun to other public locations, however, it’s vital to obtain a ‘concealed handgun license.’ When duly issued, this license allows residents to bring their guns to permitted locations.

Despite having a concealed handgun license, however, you are not allowed to bring your gun to certain types of establishments. Weapons possession is not allowed in places such as schools, churches, polling locations, hospitals, or airports.

Not every weapon is protected by the concealed handgun license, either. It is illegal to own or carry specific weapons, including:

  • Fully-Automatic Guns
  • Explosives
  • Gun Silencers
  • Brass Knuckles
  • Switchblades
  • Nunchucks

Violations of the restrictions put in place by the concealed handgun license can result in criminal charges.

Who Can Obtain A Concealed Handgun License?

While most men and women in Texas are eligible to receive their concealed handgun license, if they go through the proper channels, there are a few exceptions. Any individual convicted of a felony, for example, is banned from receiving their license or owning a gun. This exclusion also applies to any person found guilty of a family violence assault or is under the limitation of a protective order.

What Are The Penalties For Illegal Weapons Possession?

If you have been accused of a weapons possession crime, it’s crucial to hire an experienced attorney like Aaron W. Perry. They can help educate you on the specific laws and the punishments you could be facing.

Depending on the severity of the crime, a weapons possession charge can be classified as a Class A misdemeanor up to a third-degree felony.

If you’re charged with unlawfully carrying a weapon or possessing a restricted weapon, you could be facing up to a $4,000 fine and a one-year prison sentence. If a convicted felon is found unlawfully carrying or possessing a weapon, they can be given a 2-10-year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Find Out More About Weapons Possession Crimes In Texas

If you or someone you know is facing a weapon possession charge in Texas, there’s no time to waste in hiring a reliable attorney like the Houston Law Firm of Aaron W. Perry. To learn more about the laws in Texas, give our office a call at 713-393-7788 or fill out our easy-to-use online form.

And don’t forget to follow us on Facebook for even more critical information on the proper ways to carry a weapon in Texas.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest