DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated while DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence – and this could happen to just about anyone, and when it does you need to be fully prepared. DWI cases in the state of Texas have become all too frequent. A good majority of people have no idea about their rights or how to proceed when they are pulled over by a police officer on suspicion of driving under the influence. This is where uncertainty begins to take over and you start to feel a bit uncomfortable and overly anxious.
Understand that DWI/DUI charges are very serious. If your blood alcohol level at the time isn’t the legal limit, your freedom is going to be at stake. You could face jail time, your driver’s license can be suspended and you can be fined. If you find yourself in this predicament, the best and only option you have is to hire the services of a talented DWI lawyer in Texas.
How Can a DWI Lawyer Help Me?
A professional DWI lawyer in Texas understands the fact that the state of Texas is hard on an individual that has been accused of drinking and driving. You need an aggressive and experienced legal representation should you find yourself arrested on a DWI charge. Skilled lawyers have the due diligence and the resources to perform a comprehensive research regarding your DWI defense. They ask the right questions and collect evidence that can help you defend your case and your freedom.
An experienced trial lawyer in Texas knows how absolutely important it is to fight against the state and protect your freedom. A DWI conviction can have tremendous consequences including affecting your job, freedom, finances and driving privileges.
With talented representation backing you, you don’t have to worry about going at it alone. An experienced trial lawyer such as Aaron W. Perry will research and fight your case and get you the best outcome.
TEXAS DWI OFFENSES
- First offense: A fine not to exceed $2,000 and/or the possibility of serving jail time from three days to 180 days, and a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 365 days. (Class B Misdemeanor)
- Second offense: Fine increases to no more than $4,000 and/or jail from 30 days to one year, and a possible driver’s license suspension ranging from 180 days to two years. (Class A Misdemeanor)
- Third offense: A fine up to $10,000 and/or two to 10 years of imprisonment, and suspension of your driver’s license ranging from 180 days up to two years. (Third Degree Felony)
- DWI with a passenger under the age of 15: State jail felony. Punishment for a state jail felony is confinement in a state jail for any term of not more than two years or less than 180 days and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
- DWI with an accident where serious bodily injury occurred as a proximate cause of the intoxication (Intoxication Assault): If convicted you may serve a minimum of two years up to a maximum of 10 years in jail. Additionally, you may be fined up to $10,000. (Third Degree Felony)
- DWI where a death has occurred as a proximate cause of the intoxication (Intoxication Manslaughter): If convicted you may pay a maximum fine of $10,000 and/or be imprisoned from two to 20 years (Second Degree Felony)
If you’ve been accused or arrested on a DUI/DWI charge, it is important you contact the Law Firm of Aaron W. Perry, PLLC. We can help defend your freedom.